娱乐船只铝材解决方案

美国的娱乐船只领域是铝材的一个新兴市场。根据国家海洋制造商协会 (NMMA) 预估,2014 年新船销售额将增长 7% 至 8%,而美国娱乐船只的整体消费将接近 400 亿美元。“我们看到许多船只类别的销售出现普遍增长,而增长最快的是玻璃钢和铝构件的舷外机动船,持续的多功能性和价格点及尺寸的多样性使这类船只始终是市场占有率的领先者。”NMMA 主席 Thom Dammrich 说道。

对于伊利诺斯州船用发动机、游艇、健身器材和台球产品制造商 Brunswick Corporation 而言,这真是一个好消息。自 2005 年以来,Brunswick 一直是 Aleris 的战略合作伙伴。

Brunswick 通过收购发展他们的业务,但由于十年前经济疲软的警醒,此后开始巩固发展制造业务,并希望与一家单一型铝件供应商建立合作关系以保证材料供应和品质的稳定性。“业务模式和产品复杂性已不同往日,” Brunswick 淡水船只部门的采购总监 Darren McGrath 说道,“我们要求我们的供应商在稳定的质量、关键的反映能力和灵活性方面具有更强的竞争优势。”

Aleris 接受了成为 Brunswick 独家供应商的这一挑战,并为加深双方组织作为战略合作伙伴的合作关系采取相关行动。例如,Aleris 在最近的美国经济衰退时期做出了为 Brunswick 增加战略价值的独特业务安排,使他们能够利用卡车向全国各地的 Brunswick 工厂回程载货。“Aleris 为我们研发的计划提供了许多物流计划和灵活性,” McGrath 说道,“如果没有彼此作为合作伙伴相互支持,我们将无法节省如此可观的费用。”

他们为我们开发的计划使我们非常珍惜彼此之间的合作关系,” McGrath 说道,“他们对我们的生产力以及品牌盈利能力至关重要。”

现在,Brunswick 期待与 Aleris 的合作关系迈向新的阶段。船只行业的焦点始终是耐腐蚀性。“现在我们已经知道 Aleris 在轻量化和汽车业方面的成绩,因此很想知道是不是有一种新的合金,一种仍然在设计中的适合船只行业的合金,” McGrath 说道。随着汽车业不断将各种应用材料转换为铝材,或许也有可能通过新的方法和铝材来造船或优化船只制造方式。

“我们相当熟悉船只行业,”McGrath 说道,“我们希望 Aleris 能够为我们注入他们在铝业方面的专业技能和知识,使我们可继续在船只行业保持创新前沿。

Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

Aluminum Solutions for Recreational Boats

Recreational boating in the United States is an emerging market for aluminum. The National Marine Manufacturers Association (NMMA) estimates new boat sales grew 7 to 8 percent in 2014, with overall spending on recreational boating in the U.S. approaching $40 billion. “We’re seeing sales increases across a number of boat categories with the largest increase from smaller fiberglass and aluminum outboard powerboats – a segment that remains the market share leader given their continued versatility and variety of price points and sizes,” said NMMA president Thom Dammrich.

That’s good news for Brunswick Corporation, an Illinois-based manufacturer of marine engines, pleasure boats, fitness equipment and billiards products. Brunswick has been a strategic partner of Aleris since 2005.

After growing their business through acquisitions, Brunswick began to consolidate manufacturing operations in the face of economic weakness a decade ago, and wanted to establish a single-source aluminum supplier to ensure consistency of material supply and quality. “Business models and product complexities have changed exponentially,” said Darren McGrath, director of Sourcing for Brunswick’s Freshwater Boat Group. “We’ve asked our suppliers to become more competitive, for consistent quality, critical responsiveness and flexibility.”

Aleris accepted the challenge as a supplier with sole vendor status with Brunswick and has taken steps to expand the relationship of both organizations as a strategic partner. During the most recent recession in the U.S., for example, Aleris delivered unique business arrangements that added strategic value to Brunswick, enabling them to utilize trucks for back-hauling opportunities to Brunswick plants across the country. “The programs that Aleris has developed for us provided a lot of logistical planning and flexibility,” said McGrath. “We would not have been able to achieve significant savings without being committed to each other as partners.”

We value our partnership because of the programs they’ve initiated with us,” said McGrath. “They have been critical to our productivity and to the profitability of our brands.”

Now, Brunswick looks toward the next chapter in its partnership with Aleris. The focus of the boating industry has always been resistance to corrosion. “Now that we see what Aleris is doing with lightweighting and the automotive industry, we’re wondering if there’s a new alloy out there – one that has yet to be designed,” said McGrath. As the auto industry continues to convert applications to aluminum, there may be opportunities to utilize aluminum in new ways to make boats or optimize the way they are manufactured.

“We understand the boating industry quite well,” said McGrath. “We look to Aleris to bring their expertise and knowledge of aluminum so we can continue to stay on the cutting edge of innovation within our own industry.”